Atheists hating on public prayer

It’s becoming increasingly apparent that my initial beliefs about atheists ( note I didn’t say atheism but I’m sure that observation will go largly unnoticed ) was inaccurate. How so ? I was unaware of all the new definitions that atheists come up with to suit their own need. Atheism encompasses more sects than Christianity.

I had no interaction with atheists on any sort untill a year or so ago. I’ve known atheists but never had direct disagreements with any of them. I’ve come to understand them a bit better over this last year but one strange thing I must bring up.

I am told by one atheist that “we aren’t like the religious nuts that preach on the street corners. We keep our beliefs to ourselves”!!! Hmmmm, what’s that thing called they have every year out in public?? Oh yeah the Reason Ralley!! A whole bunch of atheists out in public talking about …..thinking (I assume).

Another atheist told me “we don’t recruit people like churches do”!! Hmmmmm,David Silverman (pres.American atheists) started the “you know it’s a myth” billboard campaign in New Jersey. During an interview with Fox News Silverman explains the point behind the billboards:” what we are trying to do is get people who think they might be atheists out of the church pews and into a place where they aren’t alone ,because they arent alone”.  Soooo in other words the president of American atheists is trying to get more people to become atheists by telling those that might be on the fence “here,you can come here cause you know you dont believe any of this jazz you are hearing in this church”.

So,I think Ive established a link between atheism and religion (or religious activity at the very least) but Ive had a more recent issue that seems to be troubleing me a bit more. Maybe its because the argument that was presented to me was the epitome of self serving absurdidness. Let me share with you,kiddies.

There is a YouTube video that is called “How to Pwn Anyone Praying In Public”

This was a partial of the comment sent to me:

 ” Maybe, just maybe, to be absolutely certain you are NOT in violation of Jesus’ commands, you should refrain from public prayer.  Otherwise, you will risk not only disobeying Jesus in that respect, but you will be tempted to boast about your prayers when they come true but, if you want to risk hell-fire, go ahead and pray in public.  If you’re going to violate a law, you might as well go all the way.  Be sure you pray as loud and as obvious as you can.  Do it in restaurants, and be sure you sit in the center of the dining hall so everyone else can see you.”

Mind you the above comment was sent to me after politicoochie…ooops,I mean this person had sent me a message telling me how bad Jesus hates praying in public. I assured him he was taking the verse out of context but he is one of the people in this world that claim to know soooo much about the Bible but have no idea how to read it and then attempt to justify his insane beliefs by taking part of a verse and making claims about said verse to justify his position. Its called cherry picking,coochie. You seem to do it quite often. What I really got a laugh out of was his attempt to use Pascals Wager!! Not to many atheists try to use an argument that is used on them and can easily be dismissed but this one guy sure tried by telling me “maybe,just maybe to be absolutely certain…” to which I responded to him ” maybe,just maybe you should accept Jesus as savior and Lord in case you are wrong about everything”. What I cant understand is why the atheists that say alllll the time that they “understand the bible better than Christians do” and yet say things like “if you want to risk hell-fire, go ahead and pray in public”. Well, if Mr.atheist really understood the bible better than us Christians he would know that as Christians we have no worry about hell-fire as that was taken care of at the cross (AMEN?? AMEN!!). I hear this same thing pretty much daily from atheists that feel they are trying to threaten me with my own…..well,I’ll go ahead and use the bad word now…..religion!!!! Yes,they threaten me with my own religion but they really wind up looking like amatuers who know NOTHING of the bible or the Christian faith.

PS-Coochie,I am still praying in public restaurants ( totally forgoing the threat of eternal hellfire and damnation ) because I think that is what I should be doing. I should be thanking Jesus for everything He has done for me and that includes substinance. I will probably remember you,Coochie the next time I pray in public and even though you are very angry with me because I have told you I will continue to pray no matter what I am not angry with you and I will remember to pray for you.

Anyway,thats all for now. I just had to share those things with you and if you have had similar experiences please leave a comment and tell me your story. We’ll have a good laugh together!

2 Comments

  1. Well first, the Reason Rally is not an annual event. It was a one-shot event. Check your facts. And we were there to make a political point, just like most other rallies on the Mall.

    And most of our objections to public prayer are not objecting to someone praying on their own behalf on their own time. We are usually objecting to xians trying to turn some government location or event into their own personal pulpit. Want to pray at your own gatherings? Go ahead! Do kids want to gather before or after school to talk to whichever god they believe in? Fine. Politicians gathering in private before a session to pray together? That’s fine. Put up a huge nativity scene in your yard and a bigger one in the churchyard? That’s fine too. All those televangelists ranting on TV all day? Well I don’t like what they have to say because I think it harms people and steals their money, but they certainly have the right to say it. Billboards about hell? We don’t try to get them taken down, we just put up our own rebuttals. Streetcorner preachers are annoying and fun to mess with, but I don’t want that sort of thing to be forbidden. Say grace in a restaurant if you want, I don’t care.

    What a lot of us really object to is when someone tries to hijack the government to push their own religious viewpoint over all the others. Teachers telling kids how and when to pray, religious displays at courthouses, invocations before legislative sessions without giving equal time to non-christians, religious monuments on public land, these are a problem. I don’t want the government to have the power to tell anybody what to believe or what not to believe. That’s important to protect believers as well as non-believers, and that’s where we’ll file the lawsuits when necessary.

    And Jesus told you that those who pray in public just to be seen have already received their reward, but those who pray in private will be rewarded in private. So if the reason you are praying in public is to show off how pious you are, then go right ahead, you’re getting exactly the result you intended.

    1. “And most of our objections to public prayer are not objecting to someone praying on their own behalf on their own time. We are usually objecting to xians trying to turn some government location or event into their own personal pulpit.”

      Right,but the blog was written because this guy I was having a this and that with had a problem with ANY public prayer (such as grace in a restaurant). I agree that religion shouldnt be involved on the government property.

      “And Jesus told you that those who pray in public just to be seen have already received their reward”

      right and I already stated that people who pray loudly and make a commotion are not “getting it” and should lay off of doing that. My point was that the person I was in a debate with on this objected to ANY public prayer (even silent). He said it bothered him to see people praying!! This is the kind of nonsense I object to and if merily seeing someone pray “bothers” you as it did the guy in the blog then my advice would be to not look !!

      “So if the reason you are praying in public is to show off how pious you are, then go right ahead, you’re getting exactly the result you intended.”

      See,why even go there?? Why do you assume anyone prayes with the purpose of being pious?? You are creating a problem to make a point. I dont know a single soul who prayes just so people can “see him” praying. What a stupid reason to pray and yes,those that pray for the purpose of being seen will get theirs but you can safetly assume that the bulk of those praying are indeed just giving thanks.

Leave a Reply

